Start with the Dude in the Rockies Cap


EP
EP

I wonder if Spider-man knew. Did John Elway have a clue?

How about Alex English, Carol Alt and Bill Walsh?

They met me when I was young, for a moment. Did they have the faintest idea I’d become an obscure blogger and decent soccer coach? A dad of three and amateur foodie? Did the Easter Bunny know Barack Obama would become president?

Or that little Marco Rubio would, too?

Can Santa Claus tell world leaders from wife beaters?

This graduation season, we’ve heard again how each graduate will change the world.

Will they? Can they? Should they? Is it fair for us to expect it?

photo credit: workin' for a livin' via photopin (license)
photo credit: workin’ for a livin’ via photopin (license)

Will they, as a housekeeper, tattooist or in the coast guard?

Can they, as a pickpocket, photographer, or clock maker? (Is there still such a thing?)

Should they, as a film producer, electrician, or coroner?

Must you be a world leader to change the world? And what does that even mean?

When we’re asked what we’d do as president for the day, nobility often emerges sharp as a veto pen.

“I’ll make sure we’re kind to each other.”

“My country will have no crime, no pollution, no Walmart fashion infractions.”

“It will be Utopia!”

As POTUS, King of Wishful Thinking, a mild-mannered web copywriter, my wish would be for everybody would know, without a doubt, that they are perfectly imperfect, exactly as they are. Crooked smiles, big ears, messy hair, ugly elbows and self-doubt.

We’re all okay. Better than okay even. Perfectly imperfect.

Beautiful, isn’t it?

EP
EP

Before we can straighten out the street or build up the block, we’ve got to nail it down where we live. I’m not talking in your four walls. I’m talking, under your shoe laces. And straight up above them.

In that way, I don’t want to wait until I’ve been elected or succeed the throne. I’ve already got the power of the vote and veto. For myself.

I’ve gotten a better grip on my own imperfection. I can more adeptly stop the noise from polluting all good things. Of knowing the days of feeling inadequate won’t ever go away, but I can learn to navigate them being kind to myself. That I’m not going to get it all right.

But that my heart can remain true.

I’ve said too much here and also not enough, and I’m sorry about that. My words roll out on the conveyor belt splashed with vague, sprinkled with truth, and far from posts of Disney bashing and pizza chomping I came here with. But it’s a different path.

Maybe it’s the season. Maybe there’s a reason. Maybe not even Spider-man knows.

The one with the best view, though? The guy writing this post. I might not have the turn-by-turn … but I definitely know which direction.

Thanks to Kristi Campbell of Finding Ninee blog and her post, If I Were President of all the Things, for inspiration.

fate

26 thoughts on “Start with the Dude in the Rockies Cap

    1. It’s the steps in between that become tough, remembering that you’re not what you are on that step, but who you are inside and where you’re meant to be – or where we’re not.

  1. I believe we all know a lot, Eli, and I definitely know more after I visit here. As always, I am going to start with the Dudette reading your post today (with a blue hair extension).

  2. Well said, Eli. What a fine thing it would be if only the playing field were leveled to this moment….when we all know we’re imperfect but that it’s okay anyway. The game will still go on and fun will be had. Nice start to a new week!

  3. Eloquently written, wise beyond your years, masterfully crafted. “Under your shoe laces and straight up” is awesome! We are who we are and I do believe we will all change the world, even if it is only a miniscule part of it. Thanks for this!

    1. Thanks brother. I feel like I’m backtracking on a common theme, but it feels different every time, too.

      Glad you liked the shoe laces line. I’d be content to be true to myself and then see what miniscule part of the world that might change!

      1. And there is how we change the world… be ourselves and ourselves will influence the change and then the chain reaction starts. I understand how you can write similar things yet they contain different feelings and emotions and thereby different meanings.

  4. Well said Eli, and nothing I say will add anything to your succinct words.

    Except maybe that if we all behaved like ants, the colony would be better off.

    Good post. I’m still nodding my head (YES!).

    1. Maybe I’ve finished that rant for now! I believe the beauty of the world is that we *don’t* all behave like ants – it’s that variety and contrast that brings out the best in us. Glad you enjoyed the post, Cathy, and thanks for the reblog!

  5. There are definitely still clock makers out there. I know one personally. Ok, I know two. And they are not bad people to know.
    I learned so recently that the days of feeling inadequate (or worse) would never fully end. With that came the freedom that I would learn more and more tools to get them to stay away longer.. or for better reasons.
    It’s awesome I swear!

    1. That’s cool to know. I wonder if there are candlestick makers? I bet in your town there are.

      I can see the awesome in that. Rather than feel worse that the day came again, I’d rather just be ready for the battle.

Say what you need to say

