#Q4KIDZ II: My Girls Sound Off On Auto Design, Nature Noises and Mind Reading


photo credit: Sony RX1 sample 1 via photopin (license)
photo credit: Sony RX1 sample 1 via photopin (license)

Lately, I’ve been the one asking the girls questions, too.

Q4kidzFor more than a month, the girls and I have played along with a service called Q4KIDZ, from the organization Parents Together. Sign up, and you get daily questions by email or text to ask your kids.

It went so well last time, it’s now a monthly feature.

Here’s what the kids had to say to a few prompts in July. Apologies that the girls’ sketches don’t accompany their stellar answers this time. Two are off on a camping trip, and it’s an awful lot of pressure to put on the one who stayed behind.

photo credit: Logitech Xbox 360 Remote via photopin (license)
photo credit: Logitech Xbox 360 Remote via photopin (license)

Question: If you had a remote control that programmed humans, what buttons would it have on it? Who would you use it on?

Elise: I would have obedience and a volume button, or a “don’t be an asshole” button. I’d use it on assholes and my sisters.

Marie: Mute and freeze and I would use it on my sisters, my judgmental grandparents and teachers.

Grace: I would have a talking button to control their voice. I would also have a body control and brain control. I’d use it on people I don’t like, so I could make them act unnatural.


photo credit: 1925 Dodge Brothers via photopin (license)
photo credit: 1925 Dodge Brothers via photopin (license)

Question: If you designed a car, what would you name it? What would it look like?

Elise: It would be called the I15 and it would look like a ’67 Impala, but more updated and stuff.

Marie: Swag on Wheels, and it would be all black and have tinted windows.

Grace: It would be a teal and black mustang-type-truck. I’d call it Marlelishis.


photo credit: Dolphin 4 via photopin (license)
photo credit: Dolphin 4 via photopin (license)

Question: If your voice was replaced by an animal sound for the next hour, which animal sound would you choose, and why?

Elise: Dolphin. Just so whenever I talk, I may or may not be cursing.

Marie: A donkey, so I could mimic Grace.

Grace: That bird that could make any sound he heard (Australian Lyrebird) on that video you showed us, because it’s cool.


https://youtu.be/VjE0Kdfos4Y
https://youtu.be/VjE0Kdfos4Y

Question: If your skin was going to turn into the skin of any animal, which animal would you choose and why?

Elise: I would be a tiger, because I like the stripes.

Marie: A chameleon, so I could change colors.

Grace: I would be a shark, because if people touched me the wrong way, it would slice their hand.


photo credit: Apparently, I'm Still in Kindergarten via photopin (license)
photo credit: Apparently, I’m Still in Kindergarten via photopin (license)

Question: If you could choose to read one person’s mind, who would it be and why?

Elise: My teachers’, because they always circle the room during tests and look over your shoulder. If they know the answer, they’ll be thinking it, and then I’ll get the answer. Plus, you get to know how they really feel about everyone.

Marie: Players I’m going against, so I know what they are going to do next.

Grace: My teacher’s mind, because I could cheat on tests and know what they’re planning for us.


Have you signed up yet? [Get #Q4KIDZ questions by email or text!]


mind quote

37 Comments

  1. I couldn’t love the answers here more if I tried, especially Elise’s Don’t be an Asshole button as I think we could all use that from time to time! 😉

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      She shoots straight, that one, doesn’t she?

  2. kismaslife says:

    Love the very end quote!!!

    That first question is my favorite! Well done ladies!

    Happy Monday!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I had a harder time than usual finding that one, Tiffany. What button would you ask for?

      1. kismaslife says:

        I think mine would have “good manners” button on it that I could hit for those that have forgotten theirs. 🙂

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        I think ‘good manners’ and ‘don’t be an asshole’ could almost be interchangeable.

  3. mocadeaux says:

    It’s hard to say which is my favorite among the remote control answers. Would I want the “behave” feature? Mute and freeze? Or the ability to make someone do a crazy dance? So many possibilities…

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s like they’ve thought about that question before, Mo. All those possibilities could fit on a standard remote, couldn’t they/

  4. A.PROMPTreply says:

    ROFL…..Don’t be an asshole button….OMG. Where do they come up with this stuff? I need that button……there are just SO MANY!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I’m not sure the shock value of her language has cooled off even a little. They definitely have an opinion!

      That kind of button could get worn out quick, couldn’t it?

  5. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I’ll just say “everything Marie said” pretty much. Great series!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I’m working on a “which of my girls are you?” quiz, so it’ll be interesting to see how you turn out. Glad you like the series! Marie wasn’t pleased when I said, “thanks for writing my post for the day, girls.” I think she wants compensation.

    2. Eli Pacheco says:

      I’m working on a “which of my girls are you?”

  6. mamarabia says:

    I would love to have a “don’t be an asshole” button! Sign me up for that Kickstarter!!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Those would sell out faster than that linkbait story about the hoodies that are on back order for six months (have you seen that headline, Rabia?)

      I think NASA might abandon a few programs to aim their technology at such a worthy mission.

  7. tamaralikecamera says:

    Well, only two out of three of your kids want to cheat on tests! I love the idea of reading other players’ minds.
    And as usual, I like Elise’s use of language. Especially that first one.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I went right somewhere then, right Tamara? Watching Marie play, I think her opponents are the ones who should wish to read *her* mind. (This kid anticipates a defender’s move by watching her shadows on the ground!)

      Elise doesn’t hold back, does she? So far, no complaints from the world at large.

  8. Lyn says:

    LOL let me guess…you’re girls’ motto is, “Take no prisoners” isn’t it 😀 Love these answers, your girls are high on smarts.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      If that isn’t their motto, it really should be, Lyn. They’ve got moxie, that’s for sure.

      1. Lyn says:

        Hmmm I wonder where they get their attitude 😉

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Carli Lloyd, perhaps?

      3. Lyn says:

        Maybe a little closer to home? 😀

  9. ksbeth says:

    these are great, eli. and i love the animal voices the best )

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      thanks beth. makes me wonder which animals in the animal kingdom would choose which of my girls’ voices.

  10. Kim says:

    Nice!

    Hmm… I could use a pause button – just pause things so I can take a nap. Also, a do-over button for when I goof up. Mulligan!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Right? I used to want a pause button when I was a kid to sneak cookies, and you know, stuff. You wouldn’t be able to read the M on my mulligan button for overuse.

  11. Dana says:

    I am signing up for this right now! I gotta say, I love that Elise…a “Don’t be an asshole” button is an absolutely brilliant idea.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Can you imagine a kickstarter for this, Dana? She’s kind of a straight shooter, than Elise – wait until you read her answer next month, about love.

  12. Great questions – awesome, authentic answers! Love it!
    So it’s settled – we all get a remote with the anti-asshole button? Please?

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Glad you enjoyed it – the service sends some interesting questions (you’ll see what I mean next month especially, Tamara.) I think the anti-asshole button remote will fare far better than Google Glass, don’t you?

      1. I will check out that website next week when C is back to school.

        PS: Google WHAT..? 😉

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Be ready for the answers!

  13. Rorybore says:

    oh ditto on the asshole button Elise…. ditto!! let me know if you need any funding. 🙂

    reading people’s minds is the last super power I would want to have, I should think. I mean, right now I just THINK most people are stupid…… but to have overwhelming confirmation? that might prove too depressing. haha

    can I be a pretty peacock? (that sounded so entirely wrong.)

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      There’s a market for this button, isn’t there Rore? We could have started a Kickstarter – it was the science we had some trouble with. I think knowing what people really think of you could be more damaging than our own imaginations!

      Plus yeah, what a scary cavern some minds could be. Specifically, my own, if others could read it.

      There’s at least 17 ways you could have said that more wrong, Rore. You’re good.

      1. Rorybore says:

        don’t think I didn’t think of them either! 😉

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.