Photo a Day Challenge: June 26 – Up Close


challenge up close

And then there were two.

This is Brownie. A close-up of Brownie. She’s a cat in her teens, which would be like a human in her 80s. She’s had a couple of close calls. She’s cashed in a handful of those nine lives. The closest call: A grudge match between her intestines and ribbon.

TMI?

She’s losing muscle mass and there’s other signs. There’s also signs she’s got plenty of life to live. She is a constant companion to the girls I love most in this world. So on the day I snapped this, I thanked her. Not that she’s going anywhere.

She and Cubbie are the last of four cats we rescued long ago.

I’ve told the story before. Brownie’s a sweet girl, and seems to forget all together that once I skimmed the top of her head with a Christmas ornament the girls had hung on the door. I got my finger caught in it and slung it across the room.

And it bounced off her confused head.

She forgave, and forgot. She’s a good girl.

[Check out the photo challenge we’re taking, here.]

#xoxomumphoto

close up quote

 

24 Replies to “Photo a Day Challenge: June 26 – Up Close”

    1. She thinks she’s Rita Hayworth, Eric. All cats specialize in eating something dumb. We’re lucky we got assigned cats that eat stuff like ribbon and rubberbands, actually.

  1. Furbabies steal our hearts. My pupper Reece has been with me through every up and down I’ve had in the last 14 years. He’s getting up there in age and I dread the day he’s not here to greet me. LOVE the quote.

  2. Awww, she looks exactly like our cat Cashew. Cashew who normally ignores us unless he wants out or food, but who has taken to curling up beside me in the night for some odd reason….. and when it’s like 100 degrees of Still Nothing outside. We take the love we can get though, right? 🙂

    1. Lots of feline doppelgangers in the world I suppose, Rore. The effort to explain a cat’s behavior is as futile as trying to figure out Miley Cyrus’.

      Just got to meet them on their terms, I guess. Yes, love.

  3. Aw, cute. Our felines are 12 and 15, which is ancient and even more ancient. They still have their youthful moments when we least expect them, for sure.

Say what you need to say

