What We are Chicken Of, in 6 Words


chicken dayYou can call a man many things.

Good for nothin’. Jackass. Idiot. Moron, dumbass, !@#$ for brains. You can belittle his race, his creed, his hockey team, or his hair. Cast him adrift because of his heritage or religion or sexual orientation. Classify his face, his soul, or his manhood.

Few things, though, sting like being called chicken.

Every month, I compile a post called “6 Words.” Hemingway inspired it when he said any story can be told in a six-word sentence. I recently asked bloggers, friends, strangers, and a few strange blogger friends to respond to a prompt.

September is National Chicken Month. In recognition of this great American bird – what’s one thing you’re chicken of, in a six-word sentence? It can be funny or serious. From “A tornado strike while we sleep” to “Any moth bigger than a quarter.”

Today’s list is littered with creepy crawlies. It’s apparent that as many of you find comfort in chocolate and wine, every bit as much of you finds terror in things with more than two legs.

Oh, and remember the Beautifully Awkward Project that Melissa Bond and I launched this week? My first endeavor has something to do with something I’m chicken of – and it’s not that someone will put a San Francisco Giants cap on me while I sleep.

It involves a life vest and rapidly moving water. I’ll meet my destiny with it Thursday. Pray for me. And order an extra sweet-and-sour dipping sauce with your chicken nuggets, in honor of me.

What would your six-word sentence be?

seafood

1. I’m too chicken to eat seafood.

Courtney S., of My Crazy Savings blog

2. Anything with more than four legs.

Coleen H., of The Redhead Baker blog

3. Flying cockroaches the size of Winnebagos!

Marcia D., of Menopausal Mother blog

4. Spiders and scorpions are nightmare fuel.

Erica A., of A Sign of Life blog

5. Humongous tractor trailers flying on I-81.

Deb, of Deb Runs blog

6. Seeing growing dish pile in sink.

Meredith S., of The Mom of theYear blog

photo credit: Darwin Bell via photopin cc
photo credit: Darwin Bell via photopin cc

7. Suddenly finding my closet completely empty.

Hilary, of Feeling Beachie blog

8. Unable to make my own decisions.

Laurie S., of The Adventures of Writing blog

9. Moth welcoming party on front porch.

Sharon Z., of Mommy Verbs blog

10. No lions, tigers, bears, but spiders. . .

Karen, of Baking in a Tornado blog

11. Dying while he’s away on business.

Kristen D., of Four Hens and a Rooster blog

12. Scale the highest heights? NO WAY.

Kathy G., of Kissing the Frog blog

photo credit: verseguru via photopin cc
photo credit: verseguru via photopin cc

13. Flying cockroaches disgust and frighten me.

Rosey M., of Mail 4 Rosey blog

14. Emptying my kids’ hampers – gag worthy!

Dana H., of Kiss My List blog

15. Blog post published, no one reads.

Katie M., of Pick Any Two blog 

16. My kiddo, alone, with scissors – yikes!

Norine D., or Science of Parenthood blog

17. High heights and falling from them.

Lisa W., of The Golden Spoons Blog

18. Murky water – I must see feet.

Joey R., of Big Teeth and Clouds blog

photo credit: theloushe via photopin cc
photo credit: theloushe via photopin cc

19. “Kid brings home the stomach bug.”

Tamara B., of Tamara Camera blog

20. Combination lock – what’s the sequence again?

Kim, of Protean Mom blog

21. The creepy eight legged monsters; spiders.

April B., of My Bizarre Family blog

22. Spiders, arachnids, and scorpions – OH MY!

 Aunie R., of Aunie Sauce blog

23. People I love may miss Jesus.

Jennifer L., of That’s a Jenn Story blog

24. Blood Draws, Blood Pressure, Blood Relatives.

Momus, of The Next Delusion blog

photo credit: Bunnyrel via photopin cc
photo credit: Bunnyrel via photopin cc

25. Meeting people, especially on the phone.

Cassandra, of The Next Delusion blog

26. Cold calling strangers on the phone.

Kristen R., of Bye Bye Beer blog

27. Hearing you when I am alone.

Shannon T., of Shannon A. Thompson blog

28. Shiny slimy slugs slowly sliding…anywhere.

Kate H., of Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine blog

29. Top thrill dragster at Cedar Point.

Theresa M., of Theresa’s Mixed Nuts blog

30. My teenagers in the driver’s seat.

Shannon D., of Deepest Worth blog

photo credit: Sirius Rust via photopin cc
photo credit: Sirius Rust via photopin cc

31. Dark basements, unwelcome intruders, all spiders.

Amy M., of Teach Mama blog

32. A hurricane while at the beach.

Lori P., of A Day in Motherhood blog

33. Feet flee when eyes see bees.

Leah

34. Buying a forever home with mortgage.

Deedra M., of At My Counter blog

35. Two princesses becoming queens too quickly.

Janine H., of Janine’s Confessions of a Mommyaholic blog

36. Brussel sprouts and also kale chips.

Amber M., of Airing My Dirty Laundry blog

photo credit: Ian Sane via photopin cc
photo credit: Ian Sane via photopin cc

37. Standing on anything half my size.

 Tammie B., of The Graying Chronicles blog

38. Aquatic life touching me while swimming.

Femme F., of Femme Frugality blog

39. Sneaky, diabolical cockroaches of any size.

Megan W., of The Walker Fireside Chats blog

40. Realizing Mom was right…about everything.

Lisa L., of The Meaning of Me blog

41. Spiders beetling furtively across the carpet.

Kelly M., of Just Typikel blog

42. Frogs: indiscriminate hopping and creepy eyes.

Andrea M., of About 100 Percent blog

photo credit: pcgn7 via photopin cc
photo credit: pcgn7 via photopin cc

43. I avoid confrontation at all costs.

Debbie, of Heatbeats~Soul Stains blog

44. Urgent need where no bathroom be.

Jen, of A Lady in France blog

45. Any novel written by Stephen King.

Julia T., of Diary of a Word Nerd blog

46. Body and soul fully engulfing pain.

Serins, of Serin’s Sphere blog

47. Anything that I can’t tightly control!

Kathy R., of My Dishwasher’s Possessed blog

48. Any bug that has six legs!

Amy D., of Savvy Saving Couple blog

mick chicken

49. High places, tight spaces, water races.

Michelle T. (above, right), of Mama Mick blog

50. Terrified of snakes big and small.

Lisa, of  Blonde Barista blog

51. No kidding, snakes make me cry.

Sandy R., of Mother of Imperfection blog

52. People being unkind without any consequences.

Galit B., of These Little Waves blog

53. Hormonal teenagers: God save us parents.

Meg D., of These Crazy Kids blog

54. Furry rodents with long skinny tails.

Krista A., of The Happy Housie blog

photo credit: Micah Taylor via photopin cc
photo credit: Micah Taylor via photopin cc

55. The words, “Where is the baby?”

Tricia G., of The Good Mama blog

56. Italian restaurant staff singing happy birthday.

Eiseley, of Kat and Eis web series

57. Date bragging “I don’t watch television.”

Kat, of Kat and Eis web series

58. Giant tarantula falling on my face.

Christine Y., of Love Life Surf blog

59. Failing to make a big difference.

Becky R., of Weaving Influence blog

60. Car accident while wearing granny panties.

Emily S, of Just Being Emily blog

photo credit: j / f / photos via photopin cc
photo credit: j / f / photos via photopin cc

61. Hissing, slithering, serpents send me running!

Ashley T., of The Confessions of a Working Mum blog

62. Any medical procedure that involves needles.

Marie, of Normal Everyday Life blog

63. Falling from a great height below.

Elle, of Elle Sees blog

 64. Sleestaks from Land of the Lost.

Eli, of Coach Daddy blog

chicken quote

136 Comments

  1. Indira says:

    Some very interesting responses. Enjoyed reading all.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It turned out to be the perfect spot to find new things to freak you out.

  2. Amber says:

    Love all of these! And all the bug talk has creeped me out. I hate them!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Not a lame one in the bunch, right Amb? Bugs were as predominant here as chocolate and wine have been in other six words posts.

      Cockroaches are clearly king of the bugs.

  3. You weren’t kidding when you hinted the majority would be creepy. Yikes. Excellent sentences. Am left feeling decidedly chicken about a whole bunch of NEW things. Seeing your last comment re cockroaches I cannot fail to think of the time I had cocktails at my parents’ friends. OH MY. The entire coffee table was black with them. Not one bare spare inch. Host reached over to dip his horn shaped chip into the dip and yes, there was a cockroach peeking out. True story. I cringe even now…

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Cock(roach)tail sauce, anyone?

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks for the shout-out Lisa! I’d like you to be in the next 37 of these, if you wouldn’t mind.

  4. Great list! It’s too funny that so many people were scared of insects. I actually don’t mind them. On the other hand, I do NOT care for slugs. They just gross me out!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Glad you liked it Tricia. Insects won out even over snakes and Justin Bieber. Slugs are a different sort – just think, when you find a snail, it’s no big deal, but get one naked without a shell, and it’s creepy.

      That makes far more sense than I thought it did at first.

  5. Tammy says:

    What a wonderful idea. I agree with the flying cockroaches statement above. We have those bad down here in Florida. EW!!!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Jacksonville should have named its NFL team after them!

  6. Rorybore says:

    I seriously pulled my feet up off the floor and tucked them under my body while reading this. I may have even gripped the sides of the table. Well Done everyone!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Early for Halloween, too, Rore. Or do Canadians observe Halloween earlier than the rest of us? The creepy crawlies definitely made it out of the woodwork for this one.

  7. Linda Roy says:

    Finding time to take a shower.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Are you chicken of that, just because it’s such a rare beast?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.