Our Greatest Adventures, in 6 Words


IMG_20170521_111823

Who doesn’t love a great adventure?

6 words graphicSometimes, they’re set in the wilderness, or the big city, or even in a galaxy far, far away. Other times, they happen in the tortilla aisle at the local Aldi. No matter. Adventure can find us anywhere, and they leave behind a great story, at least.

I compile a monthly post called 6 Words. Ernest Hemingway inspired it by his assertion that any story can be told in six words.

I ask bloggers, friends, strangers, and a few strange blogger friends to respond to a prompt. Here’s the prompt for July:

What’s the biggest adventure you’ve ever been on?

Again this month, the question came from one of my favorite sites, Q4KIDZ.com. They post daily questions to share with your kids and get some interesting conversation started. You should definitely check it out.


charlotte paris 6 words adventure
Courtesy of Charlotte Klein

1.  My 20s, Eurail pass across Europe.

Charlotte K., of My Pixie Blog


2. The incredible road trip of motherhood.

Corey W., of Nostalgia Diaries


3. I’m boring, never had an adventure.

Ellen, of 15 and Meowing


4. That time I joined the military.

Ashley C., of Happy Pretty Sweet


5. Hippie van road trip as newlyweds.

Ann M., of McGuffy’s Reader


6. Love and marriage then baby carriage.

Brad C., of Bradley Cowan: A Father’s Journey


happiness
EP

7. Excitement. Exhaustion. Happiness. LOVE. Forever. Parenthood.

Debbie M., of Ethel Ruth


8. Falling in love in chemistry class.

Mia, of The Chronicles of Chaos


9. All of life is grand adventure!

Mimi, of Messy Mimi’s Meanderings


10. Marrying a man I met online.

Stephanie C., of Steph the Bookworm


11.  Found Hamlet at the Folger Library.

Cricket, of Cricketmuse


12. Traveling through Sardinia for my honeymoon.

Glynis R., of UncleNomics


life
ep

13. Life itself is the biggest adventure!

Susan, of Color Me Writing


14. Chaos. Kids. Living it. Loving it.

Ann, of Grubbs n Critters


15. Writing retreat and tours in Iceland.

Sara L., of Sara Letourneau’s Official Website & Blog


16. The roller coaster that is Parenthood.

Beth K., of The Beth Next Door


17. lost in hong kong – glasses broken.

Beth K., of I Didn’t Have My Glasses On …


18. Learning to love who I am.

Rachael B., of Three Boys and a Mom


lightning
EJP

19. Struck by lightning and I lived.

Ted S., of Truth Troubles


20. Harry Potter adventures in London England.

Lauren, of Shooting Stars Mag


21. That time I moved to London!

Kirsty, of Fashion For Lunch


22. Single motherhood while owning three businesses.

Michelle D., of The Complete Savorist


23. Climbing ancient Mayan pyramids in Mexico.

AJ S., of Read All the Things!


24. Life. Each day is a ride.

Sheryl W., of How to Make a Life


11 11 four

25. Getting promoted from dude to dad.

Eli P., of Coach Daddy


26. Private snorkeling tour, many, many sharks!

Lauren S., of Lauren LuLu


Nehru quote adventure

# # #

 

67 thoughts on “Our Greatest Adventures, in 6 Words

  1. He got struck by lightning?!….he wins for sure! That’s quite an adventure. Thanks so much for letting me participate. That was fun!

  2. I love how this month is a mix of more obvious adventures (traveling, trying new things) with life milestones or accomplishments that are also an adventure, in their own way. But I agree with Debra – Ted wins for his “struck by lightning” entry. I can’t imagine how painful the recovery must have been, and the perseverance he needed during that process.

    Thanks again for inviting me to take part, Eli! 🙂

    1. Adventure is adventurous, any way you cut it, Sara! Ted really made a splash on his debut. We need to see if that cat has written about it.

      Always good to have you in the mix!

  3. Love all of these adventures,so many who said parenthood, so I see I’m in good company. But there are definitely some other very interesting adventures here I wish I knew more about! Thanks for having me again Eli!

  4. These were so much fun to read! Love tales of parenthood, stories from the tortilla aisle, Mayan ruins, hippie vans, and writing retreats ❤ all of this, filled my heart. Thanks always for sharing, Eli!! Xoxo

      1. It just seems like something the government might want to keep a watch on, like posts about hoarding strawberries or drawing cameos of Russian philosophers on bus stop windows.

  5. Thanks for including me in this list, Eli. I love coming up with these 6 word phrases, because the question — and then having to be so concise — always gives me pause. And when we stop to think of something like this, to savor it, to mull it around for a bit — that moment of slowing down makes me appreciate the process even more.

    So thank you for that.

    1. So glad to have found you, Corey. It’s easier to write 600 words than six! I’m a huge proponent of the appreciative pause.

      Wait’ll you see next month’s prompt!

  6. Great collection!! I love “That time I joined the military” the best … I have an inkling of what a ride that is – I can only imagine what adventures those 6 words encompass!!!
    I’d be honored if I can participate for August’s 6-word prompt!!

      1. Oh, I need to check my mails!!! (while organizing 46 Girls Only teams U8-U11, 600 girls, playing “my” soccer tournament this weekend…) I only think in soccer balls at the moment.

Say what you need to say

