Our Greatest Adventures, in 6 Words


IMG_20170521_111823

Who doesn’t love a great adventure?

6 words graphicSometimes, they’re set in the wilderness, or the big city, or even in a galaxy far, far away. Other times, they happen in the tortilla aisle at the local Aldi. No matter. Adventure can find us anywhere, and they leave behind a great story, at least.

I compile a monthly post called 6 Words. Ernest Hemingway inspired it by his assertion that any story can be told in six words.

I ask bloggers, friends, strangers, and a few strange blogger friends to respond to a prompt. Here’s the prompt for July:

What’s the biggest adventure you’ve ever been on?

Again this month, the question came from one of my favorite sites, Q4KIDZ.com. They post daily questions to share with your kids and get some interesting conversation started. You should definitely check it out.


charlotte paris 6 words adventure
Courtesy of Charlotte Klein

1.  My 20s, Eurail pass across Europe.

Charlotte K., of My Pixie Blog


2. The incredible road trip of motherhood.

Corey W., of Nostalgia Diaries


3. I’m boring, never had an adventure.

Ellen, of 15 and Meowing


4. That time I joined the military.

Ashley C., of Happy Pretty Sweet


5. Hippie van road trip as newlyweds.

Ann M., of McGuffy’s Reader


6. Love and marriage then baby carriage.

Brad C., of Bradley Cowan: A Father’s Journey


happiness
EP

7. Excitement. Exhaustion. Happiness. LOVE. Forever. Parenthood.

Debbie M., of Ethel Ruth


8. Falling in love in chemistry class.

Mia, of The Chronicles of Chaos


9. All of life is grand adventure!

Mimi, of Messy Mimi’s Meanderings


10. Marrying a man I met online.

Stephanie C., of Steph the Bookworm


11.  Found Hamlet at the Folger Library.

Cricket, of Cricketmuse


12. Traveling through Sardinia for my honeymoon.

Glynis R., of UncleNomics


life
ep

13. Life itself is the biggest adventure!

Susan, of Color Me Writing


14. Chaos. Kids. Living it. Loving it.

Ann, of Grubbs n Critters


15. Writing retreat and tours in Iceland.

Sara L., of Sara Letourneau’s Official Website & Blog


16. The roller coaster that is Parenthood.

Beth K., of The Beth Next Door


17. lost in hong kong – glasses broken.

Beth K., of I Didn’t Have My Glasses On …


18. Learning to love who I am.

Rachael B., of Three Boys and a Mom


lightning
EJP

19. Struck by lightning and I lived.

Ted S., of Truth Troubles


20. Harry Potter adventures in London England.

Lauren, of Shooting Stars Mag


21. That time I moved to London!

Kirsty, of Fashion For Lunch


22. Single motherhood while owning three businesses.

Michelle D., of The Complete Savorist


23. Climbing ancient Mayan pyramids in Mexico.

AJ S., of Read All the Things!


24. Life. Each day is a ride.

Sheryl W., of How to Make a Life


11 11 four

25. Getting promoted from dude to dad.

Eli P., of Coach Daddy


26. Private snorkeling tour, many, many sharks!

Lauren S., of Lauren LuLu


Nehru quote adventure

# # #

 

67 Comments

  1. debramartin65059 says:

    He got struck by lightning?!….he wins for sure! That’s quite an adventure. Thanks so much for letting me participate. That was fun!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      After I got his entry, Debbie, I thought, “game over.” Glad he made it to share the adventure. Otherwise …

  2. ksbeth says:

    another interesting and wonderful lineup, i love meeting new friends, and thanks for including me )

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I noticed there was a Beth K and a Beth K consecutively this month. What are the odds?

  3. I love how this month is a mix of more obvious adventures (traveling, trying new things) with life milestones or accomplishments that are also an adventure, in their own way. But I agree with Debra – Ted wins for his “struck by lightning” entry. I can’t imagine how painful the recovery must have been, and the perseverance he needed during that process.

    Thanks again for inviting me to take part, Eli! 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Adventure is adventurous, any way you cut it, Sara! Ted really made a splash on his debut. We need to see if that cat has written about it.

      Always good to have you in the mix!

      1. He should, if he hasn’t yet. I’m sure his readers would find it fascinating and inspiring. 🙂

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Let’s see if he’ll do it here, Sara!

  4. I think the lightning strike wins. I narrowly avoided that once.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      That one was … shocking, Aj. I think when you escape a lightning strike, you end up taking some super powers with you.

  5. My oldest is leaving on a jet plane today. I hope he has a grand adventure….(but a safe one too)! 😉

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s an adventure for a parent when their kid goes on a jet plane, Jenn. Here’s hoping for nothing but good stories when he comes home.

  6. Beth says:

    Love all of these adventures,so many who said parenthood, so I see I’m in good company. But there are definitely some other very interesting adventures here I wish I knew more about! Thanks for having me again Eli!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      If parenthood ain’t an adventure, you’re doing it wrong, Beth. I wish everyone would write a full post on their answers!

      Glad to have you along again!

  7. Another gr8 list, Eli! 👏😻🐾

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I can only take 8% credit, Pat.

  8. Charlotte says:

    These were so much fun to read! Love tales of parenthood, stories from the tortilla aisle, Mayan ruins, hippie vans, and writing retreats ❤ all of this, filled my heart. Thanks always for sharing, Eli!! Xoxo

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Talk about adventure, Charlotte. Forrest Gump has nothing on us. Glad it filled your heart!

  9. Lauren Becker says:

    I love the mix of adventures that people chose to talk about! Love this idea. Thanks for having me. 🙂

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.net

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Who knows of the adventures people chose *not* to talk about, Lauren. Glad you elected to tell yours.

  10. cricketmuse says:

    Agreed. Life is the great adventure.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Unless you’re stuck in a refrigerator box with no one to help you out. Then life … well, that’s still an adventure, isn’t it?

      1. cricketmuse says:

        Well yeah–refrigerator box issues? That the next blog post *wink*

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        That one might be me flagged, Crick!

      3. cricketmuse says:

        My kids made forts out of them. Do I dare ask what purposes would deem flagging?!?

      4. Eli Pacheco says:

        It just seems like something the government might want to keep a watch on, like posts about hoarding strawberries or drawing cameos of Russian philosophers on bus stop windows.

      5. cricketmuse says:

        I forgot about those… Thanks for the reminder. *scampers over to erase window art*

  11. Court says:

    Good ones!

    Seriously dude? I didn’t get this invite? 😉

    I am my own greatest adventure!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Right, Court? Well, I haven’t gotten around as much as I had before on the invites. Email me if you want the one for August.

      Ms. Adventure.

      1. Court says:

        Misadventure might be the more appropriate term 😉

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Those are the best kinds, Court! Make for better stories, at least.

  12. Thanks for including me in this list, Eli. I love coming up with these 6 word phrases, because the question — and then having to be so concise — always gives me pause. And when we stop to think of something like this, to savor it, to mull it around for a bit — that moment of slowing down makes me appreciate the process even more.

    So thank you for that.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      So glad to have found you, Corey. It’s easier to write 600 words than six! I’m a huge proponent of the appreciative pause.

      Wait’ll you see next month’s prompt!

  13. Eli, I love this. Some of these made me teary, and I did visit some, too. You rock, Dude / Dad. Hugs.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Glad you love it, Annie! There’s some emotion floating around these, and some good reading behind those links, as you found out.

      You rock, too.

  14. Mia Sutton says:

    Thanks so much for having me, Eli! 🙂 It was fun to read everyone’s responses.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Your entry has this joint buzzing, Mia. I think a guest post elaboration is in order!

  15. akaleistar says:

    So many wonderful adventures! Thanks for including me 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      We’re an adventurous lot, Ashley, you included. Glad you’re in with us!

  16. 15andmeowing says:

    Very interesting adventures from so many.Thank you for including my non adventure 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s been an adventure of adventures, Ellen. Your non-adventure included.

  17. darlamsands says:

    Nice tales! Here’s mine: I live through my fictional characters. ~grin~ Be well!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks, Darla! Like yours too. Do you have a blog?

  18. I love Mia’s quote on “Falling in love in chemistry class.”. I wonder what chemicals went into the mix! 😉

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      That sentence just begs for a guest post, doesn’t it Ann? Bunson burners and all.

      1. Most definitely, Eli! Mia just have gotta elaborate. The six words doesn’t justify all that chemistry! LOL. I’m dying to read the guest post. 🙂

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Oh, I’m so asking her.

  19. Emily says:

    Love all of the adventures! Thank you for sharing. Have a great weekend!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Nice collection, eh Emily? Glad you liked them and that your weekend was awesome too.

  20. Great collection!! I love “That time I joined the military” the best … I have an inkling of what a ride that is – I can only imagine what adventures those 6 words encompass!!!
    I’d be honored if I can participate for August’s 6-word prompt!!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Glad you liked them, Katherine. I want to know more about Ashley’s military stint. Email me and I’ll send you the prompt. It’s a good one.

      1. Yeah! Good guest post?? 😀
        Will do.

  21. 1jaded1 says:

    Choose any road. Begin the adventure.

    I liked your contributors’ contributions.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      That’s a good one, LJ. This one had a little of everything, didn’t it?

      1. 1jaded1 says:

        Thank you, Eli. Yes, it did. Most do though. 🙂

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        It’s like a can of mixed nuts that isn’t mostly peanuts and the skins of peanuts.

  22. Sheryl says:

    Loved reading these Eli! Thanks for having me.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Good stuff, right Sheryl? Glad you joined us for this one!

  23. Susan says:

    Ted (19) and Lauren (26) get my vote!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Maybe they can combine for a kickass presidential ticket, Susan.

  24. amommasview says:

    Some great answers once again 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Just emailed you about the next round, Sandra.

      1. amommasview says:

        Oh, I need to check my mails!!! (while organizing 46 Girls Only teams U8-U11, 600 girls, playing “my” soccer tournament this weekend…) I only think in soccer balls at the moment.

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Wow … we should have come to your tournament! (I don’t have any girls left in that age bracket, though.)

      3. amommasview says:

        Yeah, will soon be over too…

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.