#AtoZChallenge: A is for Almost (and also At Last)


stormtrooper mac and cheese plate last year yum antique shop
I wish this stormtrooper had stepped back so I could have this recipe to deal with today.

A was supposed to be for Arrival.

AtoZ2019AArrival, because I’d finally made it somewhere. Arrival, because you know, things are different for me now. Arrival, because of the Couch to 5K I’m doing, the streak of consecutive days of meditation, and doing much better at work.

A is, instead, for almost.

Almost, as in, I haven’t run for a week. (I almost typed ‘haven’t been able to run, but my shoes are in the car. I had an opportunity yesterday, and other days this week.) Almost, as in I almost missed yesterday for meditation.

A is also for at last.

At last, I have a to-do routine that’s working. Or at least, is prepped to work. At last every week of the Couch to 5K feels doable. At last, I’m finally getting to finish this post, after falling asleep trying to write it last night.

me jason efrain ACN International Convention March 2019 Spectum Center
At last, I got to meet two dudes I admire from work.

Boxes checked and unchecked

At last, I’m writing without excuses.

And that’s significant. We tend to look at our lives by what we have left to accomplish. We forget the checked-off items on the list because there are so many unchecked boxes ahead. I know I’ll live the rest of my life in this spot between almost and at last.

And does that kind of mean I’ve arrived? A little bit.

I’m strapped in and headed to the next stop. I keep my calendar focused on the next four days. I can’t tell you who we’re playing next week. I’m not thinking about (much!) the email conference I’m going to next weekend.

At last, I can concentrate on today’s priorities list, getting this post posted, getting to the A to Z Challenge list and checking out what else is out there.

I can almost concentrate on the next thing. What’s the one thing right now that can move me forward today? At last, I know what it is. I can almost get to it without distraction. I can almost do it without checking Instagram first or watching Rockies highlights.

At last, today, I’ll schedule the B post and do other things like contacting subjects for future work blogs and write some nifty YouTube descriptions for work and transpose some more interviews and check out Yellow Duck Marketing (I met their Head Quack a few weeks ago.)

At lasts and almosts that resonate

Hopefully, I’ll almost get that to-do list knocked out. Hopefully, we’ll almost beat Carmel Christian. Hopefully, my at lasts and almosts will resonate with you and we can brush off the falling pollen and get after it today in whatever way you and I can do it best.

At last, I’ve started on this A to Z Challenge that I almost feel like I can keep up with! Long as I’m armed with at last, and almost, I feel good about it.

What are you getting to at last? What do you almost feel like you can accomplish today?

Greene quote at last

46 Comments

  1. Beth says:

    Ooh another A to Z challenge, I love it! And don’t beat yourself up too hard on not running for most of the week, we all have weeks (or months) like that. You’ll get back to it! I look forward to your “B” post!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I’m knee deep already, Beth! I know my running shoes are in the trunk, although we got snow here in Charlotte today. Hope you enjoy the B post – it’s a fun #GirlsRock interview with Laura Baggett.

  2. I am almost out of this funk I have been in and at last am feeling a little more like myself. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel at last too! Thank You baby Jesus! Because it was so dark back there! This is a fun little list! Good luck with it! And good luck on that to do list too!!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      So glad to hear that, Kim. Hope can lift us over the edge. Baby Jesus is good, indeed. Let me welcome you back into the light – we have snacks here, too.

  3. ksbeth says:

    about to change my living space! big change and looking forward to it, next step to simplify life, and I’m jumping in. I’ll keep you posted –

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      That’s a big one, beth! please let me know how it’s going. I’m about to clean out my work desk, which is no small task.

  4. Love this idea, almost and at last. We are always in the middle of our own story, aren’t we?

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I struggled with the “arrived,” and “almost and at last” took the space naturally, Mimi. We are dead center in the middle of it all and it’s kind of a beautiful view.

  5. my30somethingadventures.wordpress.com/ says:

    That is so true about looking at our lives about what we still have to accomplish instead of looking at checked off items. Thanks for the reminder.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Seeing our spot currenly on our timeline can also give us some perspective.

  6. melanierousselfiction says:

    This is a massively timely post for me at the moment – my whole life has seemingly been a bit “almost”. One of the reasons I decided to do the A-Z challenge. A deadline I want to meet is amazing motivation. Thanks for your post – can’t wait for B!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      So glad it resonated, Melanie! The challenge can help those of us who feel on the cusp – it kind of forces us to action, doesn’t it? I’m behind already but hopeful. Looking forward to tracking you during the challenge!

  7. “We tend to look at our lives by what we have left to accomplish. We forget the checked-off items on the list because there are so many unchecked boxes ahead.” This resonated with me so much. I beat myself up when I don’t get through my endless list of to-dos and I need to start remembering all that I’ve accomplished. Thanks for this reminder, friend!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      So glad that meant something, Lecy, that passage! What we’ve done can also propel us to what we need to do next. We just need that next one, that’s all. Then the next, but not until.

  8. Pingback: Coach Daddy
  9. I love this ‘almost to at last’ thinking, Eli. It feels doable. And a breath of fresh air.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks! So far, so good, although I need to catch up a little.

  10. J-Dub says:

    I’ve started couch to 5k more times than I can count. Ugh I’m still stuck on this coach. Maybe tomorrow …

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s been a moon or so since my last session, if I’m being honest. The couch is the easiest part – especially with The Office on, and also maybe a grilled cheese.

      1. J-Dub says:

        Nothing beats The Office and a grilled cheese. Lol

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        *high five*

        Neither one of us will ever run again!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.