#AtoZChallenge: I is for Ice Cream


ice cream sprinkles scoop

It’s easy for me to dream about food.

ILike, when I’m awake. Between meals, or during, actually. I wonder what a psychiatrist would say about that. For today’s A to Z Challenge, I went with, “what would go on your dream ice cream sundae?” I wanted to keep it light today and went with dessert.

But not light dessert – because that’s just gross.

I set out to ask my girls what would go on their dream sundaes. I checked in with Madison, the college girl, first. She, like me, keeps a quadrant of her brain trained on food. It’s what we do.

Her answer might or might not surprise you – but it’ll show you the ice cream scoop doesn’t fall far from the counter. A shit ton of chocolate said she, and gummy worms.

I texted Hayden for her entry. Only I waited too long. We’d just watched Furious 7, it was after midnight (relax – they’re out of school this week), and, just like a bill due, I forgot until bedtime. She texted me the next morning.

Strawberries, she said. Also, the Wi-Fi is out again.

ice cream
photo credit: profiterole via photopin (license)

Camdyn’s Sundae Proclamation

Camdyn also go the call after midnight, but, in true Pacheco tradition, she was up to the task. Her eyes turned even more chocolate brown and she went into a trance. CHOCOLATE. I had to ask, that’s all?

M&M
photo credit: M&M’s composition via photopin (license)

To which she rambled off a list as indecipherable as a Nicki Minaj rap.

Write it down! I pleaded.

So she did:

  • M&Ms
  • Chocolate syrup
  • Chocolate chips
  • Sprinkles
  • Cookie dough
  • Caramel

Lots of friends chimed in with their setups. Behold:

Cherry dip and rainbow sprinkles on twist ice cream.

I’d probably put sprinkles and whip cream on it.

Fries.

Hmm… well if calories are not a deciding factor, Reeses’ Pieces and Butterfinger topping. And whipped cream of course 🙂 YUM!

CHERRIES, all kinds of nuts, hot fudge, caramel sauce…wonder what bacon would taste like on ice cream? I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s bacon flavored ice cream out there!

I would say mint chocolate chip ice cream as the base with hot fudge, whipped cream, rainbow sprinkles, and a cherry on top! 🙂

French vanilla ice cream, hot fudge, toasted coconut, sliced macadamia nuts covered in dark chocolate, topped with homemade whipped cream. Mmmm!

All things caramel, Oreo, or peanut butter related will always be welcome on my ice cream. 

mexico sundae
In Cancun, my friend Tommy insisted upon having an ice cream sundae, way past midnight, on the first night. Not one to let a friend go an adventure alone, I had one, too.

One went full-on contingency list:

Depending on where the ice cream is served, my tastes change.

Coldstone = cake batter with Oreos.

Iceberg (a local) = grasshopper shake (basically mint Oreo).

Trader Joe’s = Cookie butter ice cream

Another dreams big, like me, even if it means going bite-sized:

Cakes, donuts, and pancakes- all bite-sized, of course – maple syrup, whipped cream, chocolate syrup, caramel sauce, and… strawberries!

What about you? What would go on yours?

Oh, and for me? Just give me salted caramel and Butterfinger.


The rest of the A to Z to this point:

A is for Addiction to Devices

B is for Burgers (3 Lessons I learned During a Month Without Them) Plus 3 Random Smartphone Pics

C is for Interview with a Cat

D is for Do What I Do and Eat What I Eat

E is for Eight Things I’ve Left Behind

F is for  Foods That Bring Me Comfort

G is for #GirlsRock: An Interview Mental Health Care Advocate Kitt O’Malley

H is for Halfway There


ice cream sundae quote

73 Comments

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Not a fan of Ice Cream…*gasps and confirms weirdo persona.*…and accepts it.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I think you can have the toppings and skip the ice cream, LJ.

  2. Lyn says:

    Rich vanilla ice cream with Hershey’s chocolate fudge topping (yep, we can get it here in Oz), small pieces of gummy bears, and a sprinkle of popping candy would please me no end 😀

  3. Katy says:

    My dessert of choice is Double Stuff Oreo cookies in milk ::drool::. But if ice cream happening, then I would go with pistachio ice cream with rainbow sprinkles, marshmallows, chocolate syrup, and lots and lots of cherries.
    Nice light post for the A to Z challenge! http://www.holdingdaisiescountingstars.com/2017/04/i-is-for-i.html

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Oreo and milk I believe existed before the universe did. I don’t know how, but I believe it. Maybe they were the start of the universe.

      Your toppings read like a best-sellers list, Katy. Good on you. Finally marshmallows get their due!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Hiking for ice cream seems like a great compromise and excuse for extra toppings, Beth!

      1. Beth Lapin says:

        🙂 Extra hot fudge!

  4. stomperdad says:

    A couple coaches I had in high school always opted for quantity over quality. There was an ice cream shop on our way home from a wrestling tournament they looked forward to stopping at every year because you could get “a shit ton” of ice cream for next to nothing. It was good enough to eat.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      “A shit ton” is nothing to sneeze at, amigo. #bottomsup

  5. Kathy G says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever met an ice cream I didn’t like, but if I had to narrow it down to just one I’d go with the combination I learned from my Dad as a kid–chocolate with Hershey’s syrup and marshmallow cream.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Kathy – that seems like a solid foundation right there. Delicious.

  6. Ok… love certain Ice Creams… Sundaes 🍨 and such, but my all time favorite I cannot find in Texas ANYWHERE!!! Soft serve chocolate! I KNOW, impossible to believe but so far, no luck in my area! 😭 The closest thing I can find is soft yogurt which is sooooooooooo not the same thing!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      What? Y’all have homemade tortillas everywhere, but no soft serve?

      1. No… I can’t find soft serve Chocolate!! I can find vanilla all day long! Just no chocolate 😭

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Oh! It’s like how I can’t find diet vanilla cherry Coke Zero, only not as serious.

      3. Exactly! Except.. this IS serious for sure!! LOL! I have to go all the way back to KY to get it!!! 😒

    2. mividaocupada says:

      BUT you have BLUE BELL ice cream….. banana pudding? OMG. Its been 7 yrs since I’ve had it and still remember how amazing it is. Real banana!!!!

      1. Eli Pacheco says:

        Blue Bell is like the Tesla of ice creams, isn’t it? People and wonders of the world can’t always leave that kind of impact, seven years later!

      2. Yes.. Yes we do! Sorry, I guess I just take that for granted 😉

      3. Eli Pacheco says:

        Hell, in a pinch, Wal-mart ice cream can become divine.

  7. nikisthoughts says:

    Grace’s answer pretty much sums up what I would want on my ice cream!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      She nails it, doesn’t she?

  8. Mandy says:

    All of these sundae ideas sound delicious!

    With Love,
    Mandy

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      So long as no one suggests Parmesan cheese or anchovies, I think we’re good! Good to see you, Mandy. Look forward to reading your stuff.

  9. John Holton says:

    I always liked to take the crumbs and broken cookies from bags of Chips Ahoy! and dump them on top of a huge mound of ice cream. Even better were the cheap “assorted” cookies that came in a bag and were half-broken by the time you got halfway through the bag. And butterscotch syrup, and it doesn’t matter what kind of ice cream it is. My current favorite is the Klondike bar, which comes in about a dozen flavors now (my faves are the mint chocolate chip and Heath Bar Crunch), and I always get a scoop of ice cream with pie (usually apple or cherry).

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      With that logic, John, I’d rather crush up the whole bag of them for just that use! Brilliant. Butterscotch anything is classic. Have you heard of the chocolate shell that hardens after you pour it on the ice cream? There has to be some sort of toxin in it to achieve that effect.

      Heath Bar Crunch Klondike’s are delicious, and I’ve discovered something called Skinny Cow. The name evokes thoughts of me being able to eat two at a time.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I didn’t want to out you, B.

  10. messymimi says:

    No matter what else you put on it, the best potato chip dip in the world is ice cream!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I have to test this theory, asap!

  11. ksbeth says:

    butter pecan ice cream, sanders hot fudge sauce, extra pecans, sanders warm caramel sauce.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Is sanders a michigan thing?

      1. Eli Pacheco says:

        I might need to request a Michigander care package at some point.

      2. ksbeth says:

        You would love it)

      3. Eli Pacheco says:

        We should swap a North Carolinian care package for a Michigander one.

      4. ksbeth says:

        Sounds great!

      5. Eli Pacheco says:

        Next time I email you, I’ll propose details.

  12. I’m very much a purist. I’m quite happy with plain vanilla ice cream with nothing added to it. Simplicity at its best.

    Visiting from A to Z

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I’m a purist when it comes to pizza, and prefer the original toppings: Pepperoni, sausage, black olives, green peppers, onion. On ice cream though – not even cookie dough? If it’s the good stuff – the vanilla that tastes like vanilla, not simply the absence of any other flavor – I’m down, Ericka.

  13. Karine O says:

    Oh ice cream…. As I’m sitting in the office with the heater on I think to myself… I would love some ice cream right now!
    This post made me crave some!

    http://tropicalcolours.blogspot.com.au/

  14. TheBethMN says:

    Oh man, ice cream is my weakness!! I love it with whipped cream, Oreo crumbs and sprinkles I think. Sometimes chocolate sauce and caramel too. And now I need some ASAP. Never mind it’s only 7:30 in the morning!

    1. mividaocupada says:

      Right???? I don’t think I’ve ever had ice cream for breakfast but I’d totally do it right now after reading this!!! LOL

      1. Eli Pacheco says:

        Who’s stopping us? It’s dairy, you know?

    2. Eli Pacheco says:

      I consider ice cream a strength, Beth. Whipped cream, Oreo crumbs and sprinkles might be considered a trinity of toppings in a lot of cultures, and I can’t argue the significance.

      Breakfast ice cream ought to be a thing.

  15. Yum! ♡ ( ๑ ❛ ڡ ❛ ๑ )

  16. mividaocupada says:

    You had me at ICE CREAM, my most favorite food in the world!!!!!! LOL. I also dream of food all the time and I’m a big foodie 😉 I’ll keep this short though. My dream sundae has both vanilla and chocolate ice cream, thinly sliced bananas, hot fudge, peanut butter, and nuts. All the nuts. Maybe throw some caramel and whipped cream on top for good measure. Man Eli, now I am hungry and craving ice cream!!! No fair!!!! LOL. I’ve got a pint of Chunky Monkey in freezer at home ready to be cracked tonight!!!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s what’s for dinner, right? Foodies should feel right at home around here. And in the future, never worry about word count on your comments! The neighbors don’t mind.

      I like the detail of thinly sliced bananas. Big difference, better taste mingling. And you’re the first to suggest two flavors of ice cream, you pioneer you.

      Let’s all raise a ice cream cup to the prospect of Chunky Monkey or Moose Tracks or hell, even a scoop or three of plain vanilla to cap our days.

  17. Don’t you just love the diversity in people – expressed by their ice cream toppings? 🍨

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I should do a heat (chill?) map of favorite toppings by continent, Tamara.

  18. masgautsen says:

    This looks so tempting!

  19. I’m reading a lot of ice-cream posts. I think it’s a sign to go to the store and buy some : )

    Cheryl
    Plucking Of My Heartstrings

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s loud and clear, Cheryl. Maybe even that it should be cookie dough.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.