#AtoZChallenge: S is for Six Words


gift present stormtrooper
photo credit: Kalexanderson Preparing for christmas via photopin (license)

There are all kinds of convergences going on around here.

6 words graphicWe’re up to the letter S in the A to Z Challenge. That’s the spot where my six words post will fit in – although it’s a few days earlier than I’d let on to friends (if you have an outstanding invitation, don’t worry – I will add them after this posts!)

For those of you who don’t know about six words

I compile a monthly post called 6 Words on my blog. Ernest Hemingway inspired it when he said any story can be told in six words. I ask bloggers, friends, strangers, and a few strange blogger friends to respond to a prompt.

SWe’ve done this for years around here.

I used to pick obscure holidays to center the prompt around. These days, I’m taking questions from a cool site – Q4KIDZ. Sign up there and get a daily question you can ask your kids. Leads to some interesting conversations!

For April, the prompt was:

If you had to buy a gift for yourself that you couldn’t open for 5 years, what would you get?


cruise disney ship
photo credit: Thanks for over 2 million views!! Disney’s Fantasy Cruise Ship via photopin (license)

1. An all-expenses paid Disney Cruise.

Lisa A., of Life of an El Paso Woman


2. A new pair of running shoes.

Teri B., of Snarkfest


3. Private getaway…worth 5 years waiting!

Meredith S., of The Mom of the Year


4. Bottle of port and cheddar cheese.

Pat C., of New Bloggy Cat


5. New phone. I’m always behind anyway.

Tassy G., of Tassy Bakes


6. Financial independence as an accomplished artist.

Renee J., of RASJacobson


6 words gift perspective tunnel

7. Buy some perspective. There’s never enough.

Tessa R., of Nothing Was Said


8. Gifts stress me out. So money.

April, of Stories of Our Boys


9. All new telomeres to combat aging.

Rhea M., of Life is Messy, Life is Marvelous


9. Plane tickets to somewhere tropical, fun!

Lisa W., of The Golden Spoons


10. Shiny key to a beach cottage.

Melissa S., of Melissa’s Southern Style Kitchen


11. A letter to remember the past.

Charlotte K., of My Pixie Blog


12. Tickets to Thailand to see elephants.

Jenny, of Peace from Panic


beach house florida.jpg13. Beach house, early retirement sounds nice.

Lauren S.


14. Instant gratification is best for me!

Maggie, of The Caramel Files


15. A bottle of nice red wine.

Miriam B., of Out an’ About


16. Buy a house, rent it out.

Karine, of Tropical Colours


17. A book read more than once.

Tiffany M., of Sounds Like Life to Me


18. My California beach house, fully furnished.

Tamara G., of Confessions of a Part-time Working Mom

journal writing blank page

19. A new journal to write my adventures.

Diana T., of Creating Herstory


20. The truth I can’t face today.

Jack B., of The Jack B.


21. Dream vacation – waiting lets joy build.

Lulu, of The Real Adventures of Becoming (whatever this thing that I am presuming is the authentic and genuine) Me


22. A Disney World trip without kids.

Susan N., of Into Another World


23. Journal: For my five-year goals.

Lindsay E., of My Creative Days


24. Eggs and milk. Kidding! Books.

Eric, of All in a Dad’s Work


kermit photo book muppets

25. Family photo books – done and adorable.

Kim, of Protean Mom


26. Family moments captured printed on paper.

Jaime H., of Jaime Haney


27. Beauty and the Beast worthy library.

Ashley, of Happy, Pretty, Sweet


28. Gingersnaps in bulk, at 2017 prices.

Eli, of Coach Daddy


29. time with my 5-year-old.

Laura K.


30. Nice stuff. Toddlers grow up right?

Jen H., of Jenerally Informed


31. Tickets to travel all over Europe.

Emily F., of The Emi Times


The rest of the A to Z to this point:

A is for Addiction to Devices

B is for Burgers (3 Lessons I learned During a Month Without Them) Plus 3 Random Smartphone Pics

C is for Interview with a Cat

D is for Do What I Do and Eat What I Eat

E is for Eight Things I’ve Left Behind

F is for  Foods That Bring Me Comfort

G is for #GirlsRock: An Interview Mental Health Care Advocate Kitt O’Malley

H is for Halfway There

I is for Ice Cream

J is for Justification for the Blog Life

K is for 7 Women I’d Sing Karaoke With

L is for Last 3 Blogs I Read (and Why You Should, Too)

M is for Men I Forgot to Be

N is for the New Plan

O is for One Day From Payday Spicy Chicken Skillet

P is for Too Many Projects, Not Enough Time (a Guest Post from Kathy of The Second Half of My Life)

Q is for Quote Challenge

R is for Blogger Recognition

gift quote 2

61 Comments

  1. Liam says:

    A camping trip in the wilderness.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Major props, Liam – great choice!

  2. Another fabulous list, Eli! Thanks for the fun again. Cheers, ~(=^‥^)_旦~

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s always a blast, Pat!

  3. hilarymb says:

    Hi Eli – no you’d want your ‘gingersnaps regularly fresh at 2017 prices’ otherwise they’d be stale?!

    But re the what do I want to be given … or give myself … I’m worried who would I write a thank you letter to?!

    Enough dosh to live and travel with … thank you! Cheers Hilary

    http://positiveletters.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/s-for-sheep.html

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Exactly right, Hilary – why didn’t I think of that? Here’s to plenty of dosh to keep the both of us traveling and snacking.

  4. Fun question and great answers. I think I might lean towards Charlotte K’s letter, but I think it would be best tucked into a giant box of gingersnaps. Just saying…

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks, Deborah. I wish my bills were tucked into a box of gingersnaps.

  5. ksbeth says:

    i love your ‘sixes’, what can’t be said in six after all?

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks, Beth – and six should be plenty, if you choose them right!

  6. Lisa A. says:

    This was fun, Eli! Thanks for letting me participate! 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Not a bad way to go, right Lisa? Thanks for playing along.

  7. I’d probably get myself an Amazon gift card. There’s always something I need. Usually books.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Maybe in 5 years, AJ, we’ll just have to “think” a gift card into existence.

  8. A fat and fabulous retirement package!
    Perspectives at Life & Faith in Caneyhead

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      i could handle retirement at 50!

  9. I love all the getaways ideas–that’s the best kind of gift in my book! But Tessa’s is my favorite. When don’t we need some perspective in this life? Especially the healthy kind! 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I can’t imagine a time I’d say, “a getaway? Nah, I’ll pass.” Tessa’s kind of a champ at this, isn’t she?

      I’ll take perspective for $500, Alex.

  10. Rebecca Douglass says:

    That’s cool! Let’s see…can I answer the question in 6 words (not sure I can answer it in any number of words).

    Perfect pack, perfect trail, perfect boots.

    The Ninja Librarian’s Favorite Characters

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks, Rebecca. Your answer is … perfect!

  11. Aaaahaaaa, the letter S was the reason for posting early! Well, the five years we have to wait until we get our present, will be over sooner, so I’m good!
    As always, nice contributions, lots of food and wine, trips and books, nice job, all around!
    Good luck for the rest of the alphabet, there are a few challenging letters coming our way, aren’t there.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I couldn’t make the six words fit on the day it should have if I kept the last-Wednesday rule in place, Tamara.

      Yes, the counter starts early, too. Food, wine, and trips seem to be a common theme on many of these posts, don’t they?

      There are some obstacles ahead for sure. Look forward to seeing how you handle them!

  12. Nothing I need then but hope.

    There ya go, that’s a fun prompt!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Nicely done! Glad you found this one fun.

  13. Lots of beaches and Disney in our futures! 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Can’t go wrong with that, Lisa – especially if you time it to hit some spring training baseball games while you’re in the neighborhood.

  14. You definitely want that beach house! I used to dream of that…someone told me in Florida the flood insurance has gotten so expensive, it’s hard to live on the beach. I don’t know if that’s true or not!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Isn’t it perfect, Stephanie? The best thing about dreams is there’s no need for flood insurance! it can’t be cheap.

  15. Fun posts! Thanks for including mine Eli!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks, Jaime. Glad you were in it!

  16. Lulu says:

    Great minds think alike! So many people wanted vacations/trips/adventures or books/journals! I love it!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Definitely true, Lu. Those things are tightly wound together, aren’t they?

  17. That’s the thing about dreaming…no cost incurred. It looks like I’m in good company, there’s just something soothing about the sound of waves crashing on the seashore. And wine.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Exactly, Melissa. Can’t ever go wrong on the coast (unless it’s a hurricane or Sharknado.) Wine also helps!

  18. Sorry I missed contributing. Next time? Great ideas!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Glad you liked them, Jenn! Email me and I’ll send you the May prompt.

  19. Kimberly says:

    Now i wish I had more Cadbury mini eggs for in five years… when did those become so addictive?? Ah, who am I kidding? I’d just eat ’em all now. 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      They became addictive the moment the idea was hatched, Kimberly. They have so much sugar they make my teeth quake, but they’re so worth it.

  20. Akaleistar says:

    This is such a fun series! Love reading everyone’s answers 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      It’s a blast and an induldgence for me, Ashley. The cool thing is no one (but me) sees everyone’s post until it publishes.

  21. Jen says:

    Beach houses, Disney vacations and vacation to exotic locales? Wow, these people live such a better dream life than I do. I just want to go to the bathroom alone…..

    Thanks for letting me play 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Right? A dude I work with said he woke up one morning and said to himself, “I want to take a trip.” So he booked one to Barcelona. I woke up one morning and said to myself, “I hope I put the wash in the dryer.” #differentworlds

  22. Kisma says:

    I’m so behind! I totally didn’t see this one because shamefully I’v been ignoring all you crazy bloggers participating in the AtoZ challenge. 😉 I have been deleting the emails that tell me I have a lot of reading to do. Lol. Don’t hate me.

    On a lighter note- these all rock! I cannot pick a favorite! Brilliant answers.

    Hugs and love. Xoxo

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I fell behind around letter J last time, so that I’m now in the weeds, at letter X, well, I guess that’s progress!

      We’re a bit cultish, aren’t we, we A to Zers? I keep waiting for the comet that will carry us all to the Easter Land. Glad you liked this post!

  23. A tiny house to roam with! 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      That’s a big one!

  24. Charlotte says:

    I’m late to the party! I swear, it’s fashionable (kind of). Anyway, I’m so glad to read all of these responses… There are a lot on here that I can relate to but the one that stands out the most (and the one I’d like to do myself one day… like REALLY REALLY BADLY) is visit Thailand and play with baby elephants. I dunno what it is with elephants and sloths lately, but I’m mildly obsessed and I need to play with these animals immediately. I keep asking if there are any of either in New Jersey, but uhm… I don’t think so 🙂

    XOXO and on my way to return the love to some of these other bloggers!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      The party doesn’t actually start until you get here, Charlotte. Always fasionable. I thought you’d dig the baby elephants.

      Sloths have the claws, though, don’t they? Someone in Hoboken probably has a pet sloth in the basement. Maybe it’ll be on the news.

      I bet you’ll find some gems in the links on this post!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.