#AtoZChallenge: L is for the Last 3 Blogs I Read (and Why You Should, Too)


stormtrooper egg stormtrooper

Most of blogging ought to be reading.

LI know this. In the middle of the night, I must choose: Start on my post I wish I’d written earlier, or get to my reading routine? I have a reading routine. It’s complex and it’s regimented, and tonight, I’m actually choosing the more selfish path – I will write this, rather than read more blogs.

However, I hope that by sharing some recent blogs I’ve read, I’m bending the karma.

I’m in a vortex of incredible work. It comes from the A to Z Challenge, but also the top six commenters on my blog. I find great reads in the WordPress bloggers I follow. And I’ve just joined a Facebook group, small in number and perfect in tone, to associate with.

Here, then, are the past 11 post I’ve read, and why you should too.

Link up a good post you’ve read recently. I’ve upped the mindfulness with which I share on social media, too, so that the good work of my friends can get noticed by a reader or two. It’s been a blast this month seeing so many friends, new and old.

Houses, Some Real, Some Not | Bob’s Home for Writing

Bob Scotney’s a fellow AtoZer who rocks the house. No, really. He writes about houses. This one, about Ketton Hall, came from his childhood:

In his words:

As a boy in the Rutland village of Ketton I walked alongside the wall many times and with other lads threw sticks to knock down conkers from the horse chestnut trees that grew along its length. I’ll even admit to being given a ‘bunk-up’ to climb over it.


Karma | Kalpana Writes

Another of the A to Z crowd, Kalpana writes and doodles about divorce.

In her words:

Back to Buddhism and Karma – the minute we take responsibility for our actions we can actively change our karma and our present and future circumstances.


Perspectives: Kindness | Life & Faith in Caneyhead

Barbara addressed kindness in her A to Z blog for the letter K. More gold.

In her words:

We are not responsible for how someone receives our kindness, or our respect, or our love, or us ourselves.  We are responsible for what we present to them, for how we are toward them.

What is the last post you read?

The rest of the A to Z to this point:

A is for Addiction to Devices

B is for Burgers (3 Lessons I learned During a Month Without Them) Plus 3 Random Smartphone Pics

C is for Interview with a Cat

D is for Do What I Do and Eat What I Eat

E is for Eight Things I’ve Left Behind

F is for  Foods That Bring Me Comfort

G is for #GirlsRock: An Interview Mental Health Care Advocate Kitt O’Malley

H is for Halfway There

I is for Ice Cream

J is for Justification for the Blog Life

K is for 7 Women I’d Sing Karaoke With

blogs quote

46 Comments

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Ha! I should have added that stipulation, that it should be the blog *before* this one, Court. Smarty.

      1. Court says:

        One of my favorite candies 😉

        It was either from Stories I Tell Myself https://lindabakst.wordpress.com/, Sunshine and Whimsey http://www.sunshineandwhimsy.net/, Ridiculous Food Society http://www.ridiculousfoodsociety.com/, or Perks of Being a JAP http://perksofbeingajap.com/

        It was like 2 or 3 am so it’s hard to remember now.

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        I’ve never read those … I’m going to pick one at random now.

  1. What Court said… 🙂 I got an early start today. I’m finding it more difficult to keep up with the reading. My post today hasn’t even gone up yet through the scheduler. I have a nice cup of coffee sit and read with though so it’s a good start.

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I am going to try the early start tomorrow. Wish me luck.

  2. ksbeth says:

    read when you can, write when you can, and share the words of others – thanks, eli

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      sounds so easy, doesn’t it, Beth? and yet I haven’t been to one of my all-time favorite blogs in too long (yours, if you were wondering)

      1. ksbeth says:

        Get on it, man! ))

  3. Miss Andi says:

    Thanks for the suggestion, I have visited them 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      What did you think, Andi? You’re officially in my ‘to read’ folder.

  4. Yes, thanks for the suggestions. I love to discover interesting blogs to read. It’s nice to see your smiling face again Eli, I hope you’re doing well 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Glad you liked them, Jaime. Great to see you! I need to make my way back to your place soon.

  5. hilarymb says:

    Hi Eli – Bob Scotney and I often communicate via the blog .. and one A-Z years we did Castles – we only clashed over two …. one I managed to change mine … but the other one wasn’t too similar … lots of castles …

    Cheers Hilary

    http://positiveletters.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/l-is-for-legendary-beasts-of-britain.html

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Very cool. I’m glad I’ve found you both.

  6. ahhh i liked this.. the last three posts is an interesting take!!! I follow Kalpana too she is an amazing writer 🙂 And am so glad to find a Daddy blogger!! You are the first father blogger in my list 🙂 happy weekend

  7. Louise says:

    I “met” Barbara on this A to Z as well! I enjoyed her kindness post when I read it and so smiled when I saw her featured here. A nice list for L, Eli!

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Hey, Louise, she has a unique voice, doesn’t she? Look forward to seeing your posts, too.

      1. Louise says:

        I am enjoying her perspective – I find she gives me things to reflect on, which is always a good sign in a writer 🙂 Thanks!

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        Heck, yeah! The A to Z sends us some good stuff.

      3. Louise says:

        Yup! I may be doing a similar sort of post later in the alphabet… 😉 It’s a lot of work (my first time doing this) but a fun way to find new blogs.

      4. Eli Pacheco says:

        Yes, and I have trouble staying around 300 words. As in, can’t get lower than 550, at most!

  8. saracsnider says:

    I am so far behind on reading/commenting for the challenge, which is probably obvious given the delayed response to this post. I like the idea of blog karma. 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      I can’t possibly get to all the posts I want to, but I’m determined to get to as many as I can, no matter how long it takes.

      Blog karma can’t be a bad idea, and even if it is, it still feels good to give a few shout-outs.

  9. Vanessence says:

    What a great way to spread some love, and keep up with the Challenge to boot! Nicely done. 🙂

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      Thanks – seemed like a good spot for it! I want to write more posts like this.

  10. Great! Now I have more blogs to follow! Couldn’t you have put “un”interesting blogs as the last 3 you read??? LOL 😉

    1. Eli Pacheco says:

      You’re welcome, Courtney. Those are some good ones, right?

      Wonder if there’s a worst-blogs-ever list out there.

      1. Oh I’m sure there is.. .I have come across some pretty bad ones myself. They talk about horrible things.. they are negative or just Booooooooooooring!!! OMG! 😱

      2. Eli Pacheco says:

        I’m not looking in the right (wrong?) places, I think!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.